Passivhaus Affiliate

Passivhaus Performance wins at CIBSE awards

It is no surprise that there were a couple of Passivhaus winners at the 2018 CIBSE Building Performance Awards. The awards ceremony took place on the 6th February in London - Congratulations to all the teams involved with the Enterprise Centre and the University of Leicester’s Centre for Medicine.

CIBSE BPA 2018 Winners

Winners of the CIBSE Building Performance Awards 2018

The CIBSE Building Performance Awards increasingly stand for ethical, sustainable and environmentally sound business. Those organisations who take their commitment to energy management and healthy buildings seriously should be championed and their examples followed by others. I praise the good work of all of the finalists and winners and encourage others to follow their lead.

CIBSE President Peter Y Wong


Enterprise Centre

Winner of Commercial Project of the Year

Leicester Centre for Medicine

Winner of Public Use Project of the Year

Leicester Center for Medicine - BPA2018 Public use building of the year

Judges said

The Enterprise Centre had the best energy performance of the entries in this category. Aspirations were very high and they delivered, following an exemplary process including postoccupancy monitoring. This is an outstanding building and a game changer.

Judges said

The standard of the shortlist was incredibly high but the Centre for Medicine had the best performance and will be a tough project to follow. We are impressed with the actual energy performance as well as the application of soft-landings and post-occupancy evaluation, which provide a great demonstration of best practice for the industry to follow.


Enterprise Centre University of Leicester's Centre for Medicine

Project of the Year Commercial Use - Full shortlist

  • WINNER: The Enterprise Centre –PHT Patron Architype & BDP

  • 350 Euston Road HVAC Refurbishment – Mitsubishi Electric Hydronics & IT Cooling Systems S.p.A

  • David Attenborough Building (Cambridge Conservation Initiative offices) – BuroHappold Engineering

  • Wellcome Wolfson Institute for Experimental Medicine – WYG

Project of the Year Public Use - Full shortlist          

  • WINNER: Centre for Medicine, University of Leicester – PHT Patron Willmott Dixon

  • Blavatnik School of Government – Hoare Lea

  • GlaxoSmithKline Carbon Neutral Laboratory for Sustainable Chemistry – AECOM

    The Fusion Building – Hoare Lea

  • University of York Environment Building – BuroHappold Engineering

  • Windmill Community Campus – Fife Council - Property Services

Entries deadline for the 2019 Awards is Friday 14th September 2018.



Further Information

2018 CIBSE Building Performance Awards winners

Previous PHT story: Passivhaus projects vying for 2018 CIBSE award - 22nd Nov 2017


7th February 2018

< Back To News