Passivhaus Affiliate

About the Passivhaus Trust

Our aims

Who is involved

What we do


The Trust is an independent non-profit organisation that provides leadership in the UK for the adoption of the Passivhaus standard and methodology. Its aim is to promote Passivhaus as a highly effective way of providing high standards of occupant comfort and health without compromising on slashing energy use and carbon emissions from buildings in the UK. Improving efficiency is crucial to meeting Climate Action Targets.

Passivhaus is the leading international low energy design standard. With over 65,000 buildings completed to this standard across Europe, it offers a robust, proven and cost-effective method to help the UK achieve its challenging carbon reduction targets for the built environment sector.

 Chris Herring, Chair, Passivhaus Trust


The Passivhaus Trust was founded by the AECB in 2010 and is the official UK affiliate of the International Passive House Association (iPHA.) If you join as a member of the Trust - you automatically become a member of iPHA. AECB members are eligible for discounts on PHT membership.


Aims of the Passivhaus Trust

Key aims of the Passivhaus Trust


Who is involved

Delivery Team

The delivery team reports to the Board of Directors and is supported by Passivhaus advisor and ambassador groups.

Jon Bootland, Chief Executive, Passivhaus Trust Sarah Lewis, Research & Policy Director Yogini Patel, Campaigns & Comms Associate Kirsten Priebe, Membership Associate

Jon Bootland

Chief Executive

Sarah Lewis

Research & Policy Director

Yogini Patel

Head of Campaigns & Comms

Kirsten Priebe

Development & Membership Associate

Chayley Collis, Communications Associate Laura Soar, Projects & Events Coordinator Beth Blomfield, Marketing & Events Assistant Roger Southcott, Finance & Membership Coordinator

Chayley Collis

Communications Associate

Laura Soar

Projects & Events Coordinator

Beth Blomfield

Marketing & Events Assistant

 Roger Southcott

Finance & Membership Coordinator 


Board of Directors


PHT Advisors


Technical Advisors

Client Advisors

  • Chair: Chris Herring, Green Building Store

  • Marion Baeli, PDP London

  • Nick Grant, Elemental Solutions

  • Jonathan Hines, Architype

  • Emma Osmundsen, Exeter City Council

  • Lynne Sullivan, LSA Studio

  • Peter Wilkinson, Ecodesign

  • Chair: Nick Grant

  • Matt Bridgestock

  • Alan Clarke

  • Sally Godber

  • Kym Mead

  • Rachel Mitchell

  • Sarah Price

  • Kate de Selincourt

  • Mark Siddall

  • Will South

  • Alan Budden

  • Harry Paticas

  • Jae Cotterell

  • Sally Godber

  • Jonathan Hines

  • Kirsty Maguire

  • Sarah Price

  • Helen Robertschild

  • Will South

  • James Traynor

Technical Working Groups

Several experts are invited by the Passivhaus Trust to advise on detailed technical issues pertaining to the application and delivery of Passivhaus in the UK. The Technical Panel & Patrons meet annually to explore & prioritise these issues, which informs various Technical Working Groups. 


The PHT Scotland Committee

The PHT Scotland Committee's primary focus is to represent the UK Passivhaus Trust and to promote the uptake of Passivhaus in Scotland. The Committee is chaired by Jonathan Hines.