Passivhaus Affiliate

New Passivhaus Component Awards

The Passivhaus Institute’s (PHI) new Component Award aims to give recognition to outstanding energy efficient products that are crucial in meeting the Passivhaus Standard. The competition aims to incentivize further innovation and improvements. The first awards will be announced at the 2014 International Passivhaus Conference in April, and will focus on windows.

Based on the cool, temperate climate zone, a reference building will form the basis of evaluation for the Component Award. Using a standardised procedure, participants will offer windows (including installation) at consumer price for this building.

There are 4 award categories:

  • Wood windows,
  • wood/aluminium windows,
  • aluminium windows
  • PVC windows


Winning components will receive: 

  • A special certificate valid through 2015 showing the Component Award logo along with their category and rank.
  • A free full colour advertisement in the Conference Proceedings of the 18th International Passive House Conference, and in the Exhibition Catalogue if an exhibition stand has been booked.
  • Second and third place winners will receive a special certificate, valid through 2014.
  • All winners may use the Component Award logo with their category and rank for their own advertisements for as long as the certificate is valid. 
  • All participants will be mentioned in the Component Award booklet, published by the Passive House Institute. The names of the winners will be mentioned along with their ranking and quoted prices.


All Passive House Institute Certified Passive House Components available for order no later than the end of April 2014 may be entered.

  • The Award is open to all Passive House Windows, certified by the Passive House Institute and available for purchase by the date of the Award Ceremony.
  • Confirmed thermal performance values must have been submitted by 01 March 2014. A signed certification contract must be provided in case of ongoing certification procedures.
  • The costs stated in the submission must remain unchanged for at least one year after the presentation of the Award.
  • The Component Award refers to cool, temperate climates (reference location: Frankfurt, Germany). Award categories will be based on construction types: wood, wood/aluminium, aluminium and PVC (a minimum of three submissions is required for each category to enter the award)
  • In order to make up for different price levels in different countries, all quotations will be calibrated for Germany using the consumer price index.
  • The submission documents include plans of the sample building along with the required window dimensions. The glazing thickness and the spacers will be based on the values stated in the certificate and on glazing statics. The coating can be selected individually. The distance between the factory and the construction site will be assumed to be 50 kilometres for all submissions.

Submission deadline: 01 March 2014.


For further information:

Queries should be directed to Dr.-Ing. Benjamin Krick

13th January 2014

< Back To News