Passivhaus Affiliate

UK Passivhaus Awards 2016

UK Passivhaus Awards 2016 Logo


The Panel pick the finalists, you decide the winners

The submission deadline has closed, and the judging panel are whittling the entries down into a shortlist of finalists, which will be revealed at the beginning of June.

Winners will be chosen by PHT members and attendees of the awards ceremony, which is taking place in London on the 7th July. An exhibition of all shortlisted projects will be on display, and finalists will present their schemes to the audience vying for votes. To help you decide your winner, we would love to teleport all attendees to each of the projects for a first hand experience of the buildings, but we dont have a teleporter.... so the next best thing we can offer is a short video of the schemes set in context, and focusing on a people perspective.  Join us for an interesting and exciting afternoon. Tickets are limited so book your tickets now.

UK Passivhaus Awards Ceremony 2016

NB: PHT members who are unable to attend the awards ceremony will be able to vote online. Voting will open once the shortlist is revealed in June.

This year the UK Passivhaus Awards shortlist will be decided by the following panel:

Nick Grant

Nick Grant, Technical Director, Passivhaus Trust

Nick Grant is a sustainable building consultant with a lifelong passion for doing more with less. A regular on the Passivhaus scene, sharing his pioneering knowledge nationally and internationally, both as a practical engineer and self-builder. He is Technical Director of the Passivhaus Trust.

Laura Mark

Laura Mark, Architecture Editor, Architect's Journal

Laura is the Architecture & Digital Editor of the Architect’s Journal, exposing her to the latest trends in the UK construction industry. Her keen interest in sustainability issues, and award-winning journalism will bring a fresh critical perspective to the panel.

Jon Bootland

Jon Bootland, CEO, Passivhaus Trust

Jon is CEO of the Passivhaus Trust, and has been on the UK Passivhaus Awards judging panel since their inception in 2012.  He is involved in a number of sustainable organisations which has honed his experience in healthy and efficient building exemplars.

Yogini Patel, Communications Associate

Yogini Patel, Design & Research Associate, Passivhaus Trust

Yogini has an architectural background and has been immersed in many of the Trust's activities from developing campaigns & research, delivering events, and reporting on the latest Passivhaus projects and news in the UK. She is a Design & Research Associate at the Passivhaus Trust. 



UK Passivhaus Award Winners

If you have not already done so, check out short video's from some of the previous UK Passivhaus Award winners:

2012 2013 2014 2015
Wimbish Passivhaus, residential winner 2012
Totnes Passivhaus, Private Housing winner 2013 Burnham Overy Staithe, Architectural Design winner Steel Farm, small projects winner 2015
Mayville Community Centre, retrofit winner 2012 Lancaster Cohousing, Social Housing winner 2013 New Farmhouse, Bespoke Project winner 2014 Cre8 Barn, retrofit winner 2015
 Oakmeadow Primary School, Non-Domestic winner 2012 Canolfan Hyddgen, Non-Domestic winner 2013 Coventry Eco House, cost & buildability winner 2014 Wilkinson Primary School, large projects winner 2015



Further Information

UK Passivhaus Awards 2016

Awards ceremony booking information


Sponsored by:

Main Sponsor

Category sponsors 

REHAU Cygnum Timber Frame Ecology Building Society

18th May 2016

< Back To News