Passivhaus Affiliate

UK Passivhaus Awards 2012

The Passivhaus Trust is delighted to announce the winners of the first UK Passivhaus Awards. The winners were identified through voting by members of the Passivhaus Trust, following a shortlisting process by a panel of industry experts. Winners were announced on 4th July at a ceremony at Senate House in London.

The UK Passivhaus Awards have been launched by the Passivhaus Trust to celebrate the achievements of the Passivhaus pioneers in the UK, to highlight that Passivhaus can apply to any building type and that Passivhaus design can create beautiful buildings. 

The winning projects for the UK Passivhaus Awards 2012 are:

Wimbish Passivhaus

Parsons & Whittley

Oak Meadow Primary School


Mildmay Community Centre

Bere Architects

Wimbish Passivhaus Oak Meadow Primary School Mildmay Community Centre


Sponsored by Beattie Passive eeeeee


Sponsored by Ecological Buidling Systems


 Sponsored by Saint-Gobain UK & Ireland


The Judges were:

  • Wolfgang Feist, Founder, Passivhaus Institut
  • Nick Grant, Technical Director, Passivhaus Trust
  • Hattie Hartman, Sustainability Editor, The Architects' Journal
  • Sofie Pelsmakers, Co-founder, Architecture for Change

The judges were very impressed by the high quality of all the entries and were pleased to see so much useful data both for energy consumption and occupant satisfaction.

The projects were assessed on their performance in the following areas:

  1. Energy consumption
  2. Indoor environment
  3. Occupant feedback
  4. Design philosophy/ innovation
  5. Aesthetics
  6. Other sustainability features


I was delighted to see so many excellent projects in the UK, many of which would be leaders even compared to others in Europe. In particular, UK practitioners are leading the way on Passivhaus retrofit projects and have much information and experience to share with project teams elsewhere. All the short-listed projects were certified Passivhauses and were good enough to win, so it was difficult to choose a winner – I’m pleased therefore that the winners were chosen through voting by their peers as members of the Passivhaus Trust.

Wolfgang Feist, founder Passivhaus Institut, Darmstadt

I’m often asked to represent the sustainability angle when judging architectural awards, and I’m always looking for evidence and data of the building actually performing in the way it was designed. Normally such performance data is few and far between, whereas in these awards it was essential – it was really refreshing to have a whole range of sustainability metrics that we could look at to try to understand the nitty-gritty of these buildings.

Hattie Hartman, Sustainability Editor, Architects Journal


The short-listed projects for this year’s awards were:

Residential (sponsored by Beattie Passive)
• Camden Passivhaus, Bere Architects
• Denby Dale Passivhaus, Green Building Store
• Wimbish Passivhaus, Parsons & Whittley

Non Domestic (sponsored by Ecological Building Systems)
• Bushbury Hill Primary School, Architype Architects
• Hadlow Rural Regeneration Centre, Eurobuild
• Oakmeadow Primary School, Architype Architects

Retrofit (sponsored by St Gobain)
• 100 Princedale Road, Paul Davis + Partners
• Grove Cottage, Simmonds.Mills Architects
• Mayville Community Centre, Bere Architects


Further information:

Download the Awards Invitation Flyer

Download the Awards Flyer 

Download the Entry Criteria

Download the Application Form

All general queries regarding the awards should be addressed to Kirsten Priebe:


Awards sponsored by:

Isover logo   BP logo